Slaying the “Junk” Email Dragon

Step #1 in attaining the Four Hour Work Week – for retired folks:

I decided to slay the Email Dragon which was slowly but surely eating up my life!

Surely, someone who is retired does not get a whole lot of email, right?  WRONG, OH SO WRONG.

It’s my own fault.  With a bit more time to kill while sitting at the computer, I’d start investigating areas of interest to me, and before I knew it, my inbox was filled with all kinds of e-newsletters, solicitations for charitable donations, updates on topics I had a passing interest in…

I was reading enews about:

  • Healthy eating
  • Training women to run for political office
  • Immigrant rights
  • LImiting corporate donations to political campaigns
  • Protecting against cancer with nutrition
  • How to train your horse the natural gentle way
  • Saving farmland around Lexington
  • Land conservation across the U.S.
  • Endangered species and the effect of global warming
  • Promotions and sales at the local grocery and drug stores, as well as the internet sites I occasionally purchase from.
  • Yada Yada Yada…

Oh yes, I was well-informed!  But it was beginning to feel like a JOB keeping up with all that information.  And it was cutting into my fun time.

As my #1 Step in achieving a 4 hour work week: Viciously unsubscribe to all of those newsletters.

It took me 2 hours!  Not only did I unsubscribe but I also deleted all of the unread newsletters which were clogging up my inbox.

Part of Slaying the Email Dragon is also vowing to only read email once a day.  That will be the harder goal to achieve, since I am used to sitting down and browsing it at least three times a day.  Some discipline required for this one.

I’ll let you know how it goes on changing that habit.

(Don’t even get me started on Facebook… there’s another severe time killer. I haven’t figured out a good approach to that yet.)

Onward day by day to cut down on useless, wasteful use of time… and on to more fun things.  OK, now I’m going out to ride one of my horses. Whee!

