Horse gains weight, I gain weight

There it is. Winter’s reality.  If my horse is getting fatter, so am I.  He’s an Easy Keeper, and so am I.  Does that mean I can blame it all on him?  NO???  Darn.

(This picture was taken when I was much thinner.)

(This picture was taken when I was much thinner.)

My only real exercise regimen is to ride Stormy, my horse.  But something happens (I say this as if I am purely a victim of course; surely it is not MY fault!)… the weather turns nasty, cold, and rainy.  Looking down at the barn sitting under a low cloud of dull grey, a spit of rain and a ground cover of mud, I lose my motivation to ride.

And so I stay in the house, all warm and toasty, but burning ZERO calories.

Stormy watches me from his muddy paddock, hoping at least to see a human face for something to eat.  Of course, I go down to feed him breakfast, or dinner… but in between, I am a self-imposed prisoner of the house.

The good stuff must be at the bottom.

The good stuff must be at the bottom. the house. I am a face in a window to him, not an attachment to his back.

So he gets no exercise, but keeps eating anyway.  I get no exercise but keep eating anyway.

The guilt sets in. (Well, it sets in for me; I don’t think horses know what guilt is, those lucky creatures.)

Actually, when I bundle up, it is not too bad to be outside. The hardest part, just like the first step of a 1,000 mile journey, is the first step outside.

Starting the long journey.

Starting the long journey.

But isn’t that so true in so much we do?  It’s not the work that is the problem, it’s the STARTING of the work that is the problem.  I’m trying to solve that problem for myself, by tackling those tasks which I’ve procrastinated on,  for “just 15 minutes”.  I figure I can do just about anything for 15 minutes. Then, once I get “into” it, I keep going and often finish the whole thing without thinking much about it.  So the 15-minute approach seems to work for me.

But the 15 minute psychology doesn’t work for riding horses.  Heck, it takes you 15 minutes just to put on all your winter clothes, walk down to the barn, bring the horse in and start grooming the mud off of him.  I need a completely different approach to this winter laziness.

Sometimes I think, “OK, I’ll just go down and clean him off, or muck out the stall.” That’s at least a 45 minute commitment.

I can get mud just about anywhere on my body with no effort at all.

I can get mud just about anywhere on my body with no effort at all.

And I do it.  But getting the saddle and bridle out, and actually mounting…. not so much progress there!

If anyone knows of something, I can try, PLEASE let me know.  The added weight on both of us (me AND the horse) might get ugly by the end of January.  ARRRGHHHH!

3 thoughts on “Horse gains weight, I gain weight

  1. It IS daunting! I find riding with friends is the answer for me anyway. Also not riding my own horse, which is way more time consuming getting them ready, then riding at the nice barn, with friends, with their horses, and nice tack room and indoor arena. Sorry, I’m not much help! but I do enjoy your blog. I’m a 50+ rider.

Comments are closed.